Feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross

by Sep 14, 2017Blog, Liturgy0 comments

Feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross

Jesus said to Nicodemus, a follower who, fearful of the Jews, came to see him in secret:

“No one has gone up to heaven except the one who has come down from heaven, the Son of Man.

And just as Moses lifted up the serpent in the desert, so must the Son of Man be lifted up, so that everyone who believes in him may have eternal life.”

For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him might not perish but might have eternal life.

For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him.

Jn 3:13-17

St. Paul, who was very devoted to the Cross of Jesus, writes to his disciples: Brothers and sisters:

Christ Jesus, though he was in the form of God, did not regard equality with God something to be grasped.

Rather, he emptied himself, taking the form of a slave, coming in human likeness; and found human in appearance, he humbled himself, becoming obedient to death, even death on a cross.

Because of this, God greatly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bend, of those in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Phil 2:6-11


“If anyone wishes to come after me,
he/she must take up their cross daily and follow me”. (Luke 9:23)


“We adore you, O Christ, and we bless you,
because by your Cross you have redeemed the world”


After the death of Jesus, his Mother Mary began the custom of making daily visits to the sacred sites of Jesus passion, death and resurrection to honor her Son and to hold his memory in veneration.

Thus the Church received the tradition of the Fourteen (14) Stations of the Cross which are publicly observed during the Lenten Season:

  1. Jesus is Condemned to death.
  2. Jesus is made to bear his Cross.
  3. Jesus falls the first time.
  4. Jesus meets his afflicted Mother.
  5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his Cross.
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.
  7. Jesus falls the second time.
  8. Jesus consoles the Women of Jerusalem.
  9. Jesus falls the third time.
  10. Jesus is stripped of his garments.
  11. Jesus is nailed to the Cross.
  12. Jesus dies on the Cross.
  13. Jesus is taken down from the cross.
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.

We adore you, O Christ, and we bless you,
because by your Cross you have redeemed the world.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *